• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Newbie topic; semi-advanced lift/tire question

rgunn1

NAXJA Forum User
Disclaimer: I am a nOOB... when it comes to XJs. I am, however, fully competent about 4x4 vehicles and the fundamentals of modifying them. I'm sure questions very similiar to the one's you are about to read have been presented here but, well... mine are special.

I usually hate these types of posts, but I'm considering purchasing an XJ for a decent DD / mild trail rig and I know NOTHING about XJs. I've been talking to a few people on another forum, but I'm hoping to get a little more input here. I mainly just want to see how your experiences might relate to my line of thinking in this matter.

I want to run the smallest amount of lift possible in an attempt to keep the vehicle as friendly as possible on the road and keep the COG down for on and off road purposes. I'm not sure if I want to run a 33 or a 35... it all depends on how much lift I'll need and how it'll affect the handling characteristics. I plan to do MAJOR cutting (not trimming) front and rear and. I was told there are issues with the fender wells/inner fenders out back, but that shouldn't be a problem that can't be taken care of with a little body work. Here's my dilemma:

5-6 inches of lift: I like the idea of running a long arm kit due to the better articulation and ride characteristics, I'm just thinking this will be too tall for my desire... though with this amount of lift, I'll have no problem clearing 33s or 35s.