• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

I'm gonna change my clutch...

heyjpark1

NAXJA Forum User
And I've never done one before. I'm quite handy, and have worked on just about everything else, but never changed a clutch. For you search nazis (you know who you are) I did a search, but couldn't find any good write-ups. Anyone know where I can find a good write-up? Any hints or tips for those of you that have suffered trough this? How long do you think it's gonna take me?

Thanks!

89 Cherokee, 4.0l

on the inside of the bell housing there is this little metal clip, nothing fancy, just looks like a over glorified paper clip. Its on the opposite side of where the slave cylinder pushes the plate, make sure it's not cracked or broken...drove me nuts! Just go to a junk yard and ask to look at another tranny. I went crazy trying to explain the part let alone find it! haha i guess it was a rookie mistake :jester: ! Oh yeah prepare for anything, I ended up braking the bleeder for my slave cylinder...long story :viking:

Good Luck! Hope the Jeep Gods are on your side!

Use the link posted by o2bgpn. It's an excellent writeup, tells you all you need to know on dropping the AX-15 and clutch replacement. I did the job using two floor jacks and a sheet of plywood. Biggest PITA are the two reverse head torx bolts at the top of the bellhousing. Believe me, it's worth the cost of a set of E sockets to get those damn things off. Same for using flare nut wrenches on the master/slave fittings. Good luck.

otto said: