• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Gasoline(TM) - A New Fragrance by Jeep

critik

NAXJA Forum User
So I've read before that smelling fuel outside of your car is certainly a bad thing, but I'm not sure how to go about fixing my problem.

It's a 1994 Jeep Cherokee Sport (4.0L)...I'm smelling gas directly in front of the car. It seems to be getting worse. I gave it a quick visual inspection, but found nothing out of the ordinary, and I couldn't narrow it down to any specific location for a leak. How would I go about taking a second look at it?

What are the possible problems I could be having?

I'm a college student with little money, and I usually do maintenence myself. Will I be able to fix such a problem, or would I need to take it to someone who is more experienced?

Thanks a bunch!

From the front, most problems can be fixed with a 1/2" wrench and few minor tools. The main culpret to suspect is leaky fuel injectors. Check 'em out with the engine running but cold and look for leaks. Look as well at the fuel lines themselves. There's a supply line (rear) and a return line (front).

If its leaking at either supply line, order the o-ring kit from the dealer and replace. If its leaking from the injectors, you may want to replace them depending on milage, but for sure you need to replace the o-rings. Another kit from the dealer.

If you need new injectors, go here http://tunertoys.zoovy.com/product/CIXJ9193

and for $160 you get the injectors and o-rings. You will however still need kits for the fuel lines.

just a a double check.............take a look at the fuel filter.
I had a similar issue, i could smell fuel around the drivers side door - filter was toast