• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Welder tune-up

SCW

NAXJA Forum User
I have a 120v- 130amp mig welder from Solar, model 2120 that references to Lincoln model 117-020. When I'm welded larger stuff such an angle iron, heavy expanded metal, etc it does just fine, lays a nice bead and burns into the iron really well.

When I try to weld sheet metal with the heat turned down (I have very little experience with sheet metal to start with) I get some strange behavior. Insead of burning at the tip of the wire I get a very inconsistant burn to the point where the wire coming out of the tip will actually push my hand away from the work, rather than burning evenly. Eventually I just turned the heat back up and had to move fast not to blow through, but why can't I get an even burn with the lower temp? The sheet metal was clean and unpainted, using flux wire and NO gas (yet).

I considered that the liner in the lead may be shot giving me an uneven feed, but I don't think so because it does just fine when turned up, and an uneven feed wouldn't push my hand away from the work.

Thanks-

tealcherokee said:
flux core is good for about no thinner than 3/32

sheetmetal and fluxcore do not get along, the wire is too thick

OK, I've already priced out a tank and regulator, looks like I'll just have to bump up the conversion a little. Stupid flux stuff splatters like mad anyway-

problem with switching over to the tank, youll be lucky to get good penetration on anything over 1/8"

best bet is to price out a real mig, youll be able to weld 24g - 1/4 (and bigger depending on $$$$)

tealcherokee said:
problem with switching over to the tank, youll be lucky to get good penetration on anything over 1/8"

best bet is to price out a real mig, youll be able to weld 24g - 1/4 (and bigger depending on $$$$)