• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Tire Clearance

Limited89XJ

NAXJA Forum User
I am just getting into offroading so please bare with me. I am very interested in joining NAXJA and hitting up Moab and Tellico within the next couple of years. So here we go... I have an 85 Cherokee and was looking into buying a set of Goodyear's MT/Rs. Quadratec has the LT235/75R15 for a good price but will they fit my stock Cherokee, without serious rubbing on rough terrain?
And if they do what tire do you recommened on the stock Cherokee for highway/muddy & rocky terrain.

Thanks

You should be fine with 235/75R15s on a stock XJ. Those come out to about 29 inches, and people regularly run 30x9.5s with a stock suspension. If you're really worried about rubbing, just make sure that your bumpstops are in good shape (I don't know about Wyoming, but in my neck of the woods they tend to disintegrate).

Welcome to the NAXJA forums!

I've got 235/75's on my stock suspension. My rear leafs are sagging very badly too (read: on the verge of frowning). Here's some pics of mine. I run Wild Spirit Radial DTX's. They are great on the road, dirt and snow. Very decent in mud and ice.

DSCF1089.jpg

DSCF1077.jpg

DSCF1076.jpg

Mambeu said:
Welcome to the NAXJA forums!
Hey, thanks! :)

Thats good news, I really didn't want to put a lift on it... I might this winter but I have heard nothing but bad new about lift kits so Im still not to sure.

If I did put a lift on I would go with the RE 4.5 or the RE 5.5 with 33" tires
RE HD-SYE & RE driveshaft. Would I need anything else?

Thanks Again :)