• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

mj advice...

wolfy

NAXJA Forum User
hey guys, im new to this forum. ive got an 86 mj and need advice from some people that have experience with the mj's. i would like to get around 8" of lift and fit 35's. with 8" and fender trimming can i fit 37's? whats the best way to get that kind of lift, being as how the biggest kit ive seen is 5.5"? would the easiest way be to move the hanger and shackle locations and use cherokee stuff to lift it. i would like it to be a dedicated trail rig, but want it to be street legal. also if it helps, its a long bed. any advice and sources/sites would be much appreciated. i am doing this myself as a project vehicle with help from some experienced fabricators, being as how im still learning fab skills. thanks again for all the help...

-cam

fb6b8a64.jpg

on another note, the interior has been completely gutted, full cage is in the works, but thinking about an exo cage. it has the 2.8 l v-6, but that WILL be swapped. not sure what motor yet but i do want manual tranny, im up to suggestions.

My 89 LWB got a springover (44 with RE pads) which took that end to 5-6". I removed the short/thick AAL but left the long, thinner one, and kept the MJ shackles. It worked really well with 33s & no trimming at all.

I'd advise keeping the MJ leafpack vs a shorter XJ pack...but better results may be found with other leafs mixed in (S10?Dakota)

Up front, same lift mods as XJs will do... I won't get into who's 6"+ stuff is best... My MJ did fine @ 4.5" with stock CAs, lots of trimming... My XJ at 6"+- could use LCA drop brackets. I'll go out on a limb and say that a beefier front axe (44-9"-60) is probably a smart investment if you are going straight from stock to 37" tires