• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Locker or Spool?

JIMBOJAMES

NAXJA Forum User
I am getting a Ford 8.8 rear real soon. I am gonna gear it for 4.88s gears. My XJ is my DD for now I want to get some kind of posi rear end setup.Right now I am running 33's but I want to get 36Iroks that is the reason for the 4.88s. So what would work better? Does anyone run a full spool on a DD?

spool will be harder on tires.
I like my detroit, I'm still geting used to it, but it's not nearly as noticeable as I thought it would be.

I'm thinking that I'll get a full spool in my front D44 when it goes in, but it will have selectable hubs. I don't think a spool in the rear of a DD would be a good idea, but I have no actual experience with one so don't really know.

i dont mind my spool so much anymore now that i'm running MT/Rs, i had swampers on it when i first spooled it and they just go too good traction and they didnt like to "slip/chirp" on corners.. and that made tight parking spot maneuvers a real BEOTCH.. it killed my tired rear springs because it would transfer all the twisting to them before it let the tires slip... this is on my 5 spd.. on the trail and regular driving i really like it.. just in the tight parking spot i have at home i hate the fuggin thing..

Know a guy who ran a spool in the rear and his tires wore out in about 6 months with about 100 miles a week. Auto tranny and 35's/4.56's I believe.
Believe I'll do the Detroit front and rear with lockout fronts, but I'm driving 60 to 100 miles a day (Iive in country, work in city). Considered ARB, but not convinced of reliability. Any suggestions for DD and lots a miles?

Mambeu said:
Why would the type of transmission make a difference?