• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

2000 XJ Stroker, CPS causing Eccessivly High Idle?

rbishop

NAXJA Forum User
Hi everyone. I've been stalking the forums for a few years now and this is the first time I've ever posted.

I had the notorious 0331 head problem on my 2000 XJ and decided to go the stroker route. So we finally got the brand new 4.7L in and after the first start immediately noticed an extremely high idle (I cut off the ignition before it hit 3000rpm).

We checked for vacuum leaks and couldn't find anything wrong. We think we narrowed it down to the camshaft position sensor being far out-of sync. When we originally took the CPS out of the old engine we didn't know to make sure we had TDS and use a pin to hold the CPS in place. Looking it up in my haynes manual it states that you have to use a scan tool to adjust the CPS. Does anyone know any tricks that doesn't require us trailering it to the local Jeep dealer? Thanks in advance.

rbishop said:
We checked for vacuum leaks and couldn't find anything wrong.

Are you sure you don't have an air leak from the gasket between the intake manifold and the head? That is exactly the sort of thing that can cause a very high idle.

I was going to say the same thing .. this post screams intake leak.

We checked the intake (and gasket) connections a few times. All the bolts are tight and are seated well. If it was a vacuum issue wouldn't it have to be pretty large leak (ie: easy to identify) to immediately rev to 3000?

In any regard, I've been searching the forums and think I may have found the cause of the problem. A faulty/dirty TPS or IAC. My brother cleaned up the throttle body/intake and may have damaged a sensor in the process. The CPS shouldn't even be able to increase the idle, should it?