• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Does brand of wire in my MIG make that much difference?

What Rd

NAXJA Forum User
I bought my welder used and finally finished off the full spool of wire that was in it. It's a Lincoln SP-130T, with a 130 amp capacity, running off of 220 volts. I've been using the bottle of 75% carbon dioxide 25% argon that came with the welder.
I'm a totally self-taught amatuer who doesn't really understand what I'm doing, but I enjoy it and have been having very good success. I've been laying down good looking beads (or at least they look good to me and when I cut into them I see good penetration) and have even been getting better at vertical surfaces. Until today.
As I said, I finally used up the spool of wire that came in the welder. So I replaced it with a spool of Lincoln solid steel .030 wire. With just that change, the quality of my welds went straight to hell. I'm getting craters that pop, a very uneven sound instead of the "sizzling bacon" sound I'd been told was good, balls of molten steel jumping and rolling off the base metal whereas I was used to get very litle spatter, and the cooled beads appear to have little pits as opposed to the beautifully smooth and uniform surfaces I used to get. These welds suck.