• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Rusty's 3in lift with spring pack

mikey mags

NAXJA Forum User
Can anyone give me some feedback on thier opinions of the Rustys 3in lift system with spring pack. Im looking into buying it but i would like to know what experiences others have had with it..thanks

I did mine all by myself in about 7 hours. The price was right and 6 months and 7500 miles later, the rear is still about 3.75".

My '89 rides better than before the lift....but my suspension was shot already so my benchmark's not the best. Then again, I'm not wheeling the Rubicon or Moab every weekend. It's held up to some local trails and 3K miles with WAY too much cargo in the back.

I feel I got my money's worth.

Rusty's instructions leave a little to be desired I think... I'm a noob and I had never installed a lift so it took we a few beers to realize that loosening the rear shackles might be a good way to get the leaf springs in!

Getting the front end to line up and buttoned back togther was a bitch but I did it. And I didn't use a spring compressor. I just jacked up the front end, removed the shocks, secured the coils with a safety chain and "GENTLY" lowered the axle. The springs fall out nicely.

Oh, and take this boards advice...spray every bolt with PB or the like for a week prior to starting. Other than one that needed a quick shot with a propane torch, all mine came right off.