• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

You build my Jeep! Need input ASAP please

Bradzuki

NAXJA Forum User
Hi all! New to board & this is my first post. I'm not new to wheeling, I've been building suzuki samurais for several years in my shop. I recently bought a '87 Cherokee and I'm in a pinch to do some upgrades fast!

I thought I'd turn to the experts to try & get input on what you'd do if you were in my situation.

My wife wants to go to Windrock in two weeks & Tellico two weeks after that. Not a problem by me, but we have no ride. The 4-wheeler is in the shop & my zuk is cut in half getting a new build. That leaves only one 4wd at our house, the Cherokee. Right now it's no where near capable of going but she has given the go-ahead to do what it takes to make it go. That's why I'm turning to you, help me bulid my Jeep to where we can make it through a level 3 (maybe 4) trail.

I have 2 weeks (leaving May 5) and a budget of $1500 to make it or break it.

Here's what I have to work with:
'87 4.0L, auto, 231, d30, d35, 3.55 ratio
It has a 3" Rough Country AAL lift with 31x11.50 Swamper LTBs

The rules:

Tires stay--they don't have 10,000 miles on them

$1500 budget--might could scrape a couple more hundred if she don't find out

No cutting of sheetmetal--body is in excellent condition

I'm doing all installation so no labor $$ involved

All parts will be purchased at Rusty's OffRoad--I can drive there & pick up parts instead of waiting on shipping.

That's it. Let me know which route you'd take if you were me. I've got some ideas but wanted input from others that are in-the-know. Time's a ticking......

Thanx,
Brad.