• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Cage blueprints

LilRedRover

NAXJA Forum User
Alright, well I am making my rig trail only this summer as I am buying a DD civic for gas reasons, but not getting rid of the heep as it's paid off... naturally in the evolution of things, a cage is in order. I have looked and the "bolt in" cages I think are junk, but as I have never done anything like this before I need some help with designs and what not. I will admit I am a newb at custom fab, but my best friend and his father own a machine shop and have all the tools and knowledge to cut and weld what I need, but not the knowledge of how to build a good, solid cage. Do any of you have the blueprint of how you built your cage you could load up and help me out?

Well... i honestly dont think this is something someone can tell you how to do.

But, I can try to give you a little advice. Best to start with good material, this wont necessarily determine the strength of you cage, but it will allow you to have a peace of mind. Use at least .120" HREW. If I were to do my cage over again, I might step up with a little more money and use .120" DOM. The standard for the main structure is 1.75" dia tubing, with 1.50" tubing used for the rest of the stuff. I threw in some 1.25" and 1" for some random things.

As far as design goes, I recommend to build it for YOUR needs at the time you decide to do it. If you want to fit 4 people i recommend looking at these cages for a copy.
http://www.naxja.org/forum/showthread.php?t=78911&highlight=capt.+nemo
http://www.naxja.org/forum/showthread.php?t=35887&highlight=rick+xtrm+xj

I personally recommend something like those cages. Being able to have the function of doors, hatch, people, etc.