• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Budget Boost

xjchris98

NAXJA Forum User
I'm a newbie with a question about a BB. I'm planning on getting a BB hopefully in the next week or so and was wondering which kit is the best to go with? My leaf packs aren't sagging at all and i'd like to keep it that way if at all possible. I've heard bad things about AAL's so I was leaning towards the rocky-road kit. Any suggestions would be appreciated...thanks in advance.

don't get a shackle.
add a leafs are better. shackles will kill stock leaf packs. don't ask me why i know that....
long add a leafs are preforable. they ride better and more evenly arch the leaves.
marty, who runs rocklizardfabrications, has a nice budget boost article on his website.

I've had the Rocky Road 2" budget lift on mine for almost a year, zero complaints. The ride actually improved (firmed up slightly). The kit came with 2" poly spacers, 1.5" shackles (beefy!), 0.5" steel lift blocks and shock extenders. The shock extenders were a total waste, not only did they not work well at all (removed them after one day), but were totally unnecessary with only 2" of lift.

The only thing that you need to be aware of is you will need to order longer u-bolts (Rocky Road has them), and you'll need longer leaf spring center pins (you can get the right length round allen head bolts at any home store that will work well). Also, you'll probably want to remove your rear sway bar during the installation as the lift blocks will cause the swaybar brackets to ride very close to your tire's inner sidewalls. But I noticed zero negative effects from removing the bar, in fact my rear suspension actually feels firmer now (less body roll) than it did when my Jeep was totally stock.