• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

What's the best method to remove the LCA mounts?

tompatjr

NAXJA Forum User
Heres what I got...

I have a torch, two die grinders (strait and 90*), and a 4.5" angle grinder and I forgot a air chisle too. I must admit I'm a novice with a torch. So I would try and use it as a last resort.

I have a freind who has the skill to cleanly torch them off, but I would rather save a favor.

I'd like to have it end up being that you never knew they where there. I plan to grind down the remaining material and then use a flapper disc to finish.

I did mine with a sawzall and am very pleased with the results.

If I had a spot weld drill I would have drilled out the welds before I would torch it off.

motorman said:
I did mine with a sawzall and am very pleased with the results.

If I had a spot weld drill I would have drilled out the welds before I would torch it off.

I forgot I got a POS sawzall, Harbor Freight for $19.00. Maybe it'll last long enough to remove them!

Thanks

Took them off the MJ, just about drove me insane. I think the torch would be useless for this job. I had quite a bit more to remove on the MJ. But i would say angle grinder, and a short pry bar. Just disect. I know my second side took about 1/3 the time and effort.

Gene MJ

tompatjr said:
I forgot I got a POS sawzall, Harbor Freight for $19.00. Maybe it'll last long enough to remove them!

Thanks
That and the $20 in blades, I went through quite a few blades doing mine but it turned out pretty nice with the sawzall.

sawzall here, just just the ears off, left teh rest on the "frame" no interference issuses.