• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

97 xj 4.0-MANY PROBLEMS......PLEASE HELP!!!LONG!!!

ritchie

NAXJA Forum User
PLEASE HELP!!!1997 xj 4.0-MANY PROBLEMS......PLEASE HELP!!!LONG!!!

Hi all....I'm a noob to the board...
I have a stock 1997 xj 4.0 2wd with 87.000 miles on her.Not abused,and in excellent shape.
I swapped an AW-4 from a 94 xj 2wd with new torque convertor,NSS,new shift solenoids and relavent wiring about 10.000 miles ago after experiencing driveline vibes while sitting in drive after coming to a stop with brakes applied.The vibes also occurred under moderate to hard acceleration in 1st gear and smooth out at regular speeds.
so I dropped the transmission,and(get this!!!)

The torque convertor's snout had snapped off inside the front pump of the trans....
I dont have a clue as to how or why it happened...flexplate was bolted tight/no cracks,so...
I swapped AW-4's as I didn't feel like doing a front pump rebuild on the old transmission and it probably has fragments from the TC snout in it.
The swap worked fine then the vibes started a few days after the swap..

I've since checked (several times)the line pressure cable adjustment,ALL mounts,the flexplate for cracks,tightened all bolts,put in new u-joints 3 times,....nothing has changed.
Driveshaft looks good,no scars etc...oh...and the crankshaft had no endplay whatsoever(i've gone absolutely nuts trying to track down the vibe issue)
I've just driven her nice as possble to not cause anymore problems.......

Now a new problem has occured....I started her up this morning.....check engine light came on.....and the mileage odometer had RESET to zero miles by itself!!!