• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

5.5" w/out SYE??

trashedxj

NAXJA Member # 1386
ok i have a trail master 4" kit w/skyjacker 1" shackle in the rear( AAL only lifts 3") when/if i swap my axles i figure while in there i might as well slip a 1.75" spacer in the front and a 1.5" block in the rear. i know it will vibrate but will it work, i have a skyjacker t-case drop in now w/ no problems(there wasn't any before tho either!) how bad will this be until i can go all out and get the SYE put in(estimate bout 6-8 months) this is going to be on my DD so i want real thoughts/ experience? and NO, i did not search on this subject as i figure noone else is as dumb as me to try this one!

if it's a DD, i would do an sye first, they are pretty easy to do, and cheaper now.

i can't tell ya it would be ok, but all it may take is that one extra inch it get crazy vibs, output shaft seals and tailcones don't hold up very long with driveline vib's, if you shop right you can do the job under $250, i got a porc sye for $169 shipped, then got a used front shaft off ebay for $40, then fluid and stuff, and a few hours to do it, and trust me....it was totaly worth every penny!!

I have the RE 5.5 ED kit and do not have an SYE, and its on a "vibration prone" 97 also. I do have alot of T-case drop, but I don't have any vibes and my DS hasn't fallen out no matter how hard its been wheeled.

I do plan on going with an SYE eventually, one of the next mods is a DPG T-case skid and I will have to lose the drop to do so. It works for now though.