• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

8.8 rear, other ford exploder parts for an xj?

dirtdogger17

NAXJA Forum User
my buddy's 92 ford exploder is headin to the junkyard..what else besides the cv driveshaft and 8.8 rear can i possibly use on my 95 xj?..i was thinking about swapping an 8.8 on anyway so i sorta lucked out even though its drum braked..

If your XJ has a 8.25 rear the swap is not worth the effort.
You are gonna gain a beefy and durable case but not most of what people swap in the late model 8.8's for. 31 SPL axles and disc brakes.

If you have the dreeded D35..its may be a diffferent story.

IMHO...

CW

i did a little searching and from what i saw the 1990.5+ shafts on mazda navajo and ford explorer 8.8 rears were still 31 spline..im no expert, but thats what i got from briefly searching....and theres alot of aftermarket stuff out there for the 8.8..more than my chrysler 8.25..i figure i wont have to mess around with new e-brake lines either cause theyre still drums..yay or nay?

What CV drive shaft. the front is the same as a XJ front shaft meaning 2" shaft with 1310s. I got one off a 91 the other day, but it was about an inch shorter than the XJ one off an auto. That might work for you but you need to measure.

cwlongshot said:
If your XJ has a 8.25 rear the swap is not worth the effort.
You are gonna gain a beefy and durable case but not most of what people swap in the late model 8.8's for. 31 SPL axles and disc brakes.

If you have the dreeded D35..its may be a diffferent story.

IMHO...

CW

All Ford Explorer 8.8's are 31 spline.