• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Used the U.V. oil dye. Head gasket oil leak!! need help

JTS97Z28

NAXJA Forum User
First off would like to say the UV oil dye works VERY well. I drove down the street and back and sure enough with the blacklight over the engine bay the oil is seeping out of the passenger side middle section at the head gasket. Probably the last place I was hoping it would be from. I am fairly new to the XJ world. How tough of a job is it to replace the head gasket? am I better off just buying a newer XJ? :)

Thanks,
JT

Here's a link to a head removal on a 4.2L motor.
http://www.off-road.com/jeep/new/40conv.html
It's different than the 4.0 but close enough to outline what you need to do, and ithas good pictures. Take a look at that and if you think you're capable of it go for it. I've taken the head off of a motor, I had never done it before, it's a bit daunting, but it's not too terribly difficult. Just make sure you hae the proper tools needed, torque wrench and such.

JTS97Z28 said:
I drove down the street and back and sure enough with the blacklight over the engine bay the oil is seeping out of the passenger side middle section at the head gasket.
Any chance you might be referring to the valve cover gasket?

JTS97Z28 said:
Probably the last place I was hoping it would be from.
If it is the valve cover gasket it's an hour job, TOPS.

JTS97Z28 said:
I am fairly new to the XJ world. How tough of a job is it to replace the head gasket?
Very easy job if it's the valve cover gasket, it's held on by like 14 bolts, there are several write-ups on doing it.

JTS97Z28 said:
Am I better off just buying a newer XJ? :)
Not if it's just the valve cover gasket, no.

I'll pulled the head off my 94 4.0l twice now. I've got a Borla exhaust, and that makes things a bunch easier.