• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

engine swap question

Tom_W

NAXJA Forum User
I have an 88 xj (4.0 L) with a bad cylinder that I need to replace the engine on. I can get a 91 xj 4.0 (the whole jeep ) for nothing (it was wrecked). What is the difference in the engines between the 88 & the 91 ? What all would I need to steal from the 91 to make the engine work in the 88 ?

Im far from an expert but I bet if you took out all the electronics, intake, throttle body, exhaust, it should fit. What tranny? At least it's not gonna cost you anything! I would just take everything and then worry about it later.

There are some significant differences.

Control system electronics were change for the 1991 model year, from RENIX to ChryCo. The "best" way to do the swap is to change everything from the firewall forward at least - taking it off the donor vehicle and moving it over. However, you probably didn't want to hear that...

Second best? The knock sensor was deleted for 1991, but the cast boss should still be in place. Measure the threads on the RENIX knock sensor, and drill and tap a blind hole in the same place. Keep the RENIX head, intake, and exhaust manifolds, and bolt it onto the 1991 block. This will allow you to easily keep the RENIX sensor - especially the TPS, and especially if you have an automatic (which also gets a signal from the TPS, and has a separate control system.) The heads will swap easily - the differences are mainly internal, not including the change to the manifold mounts (you can make them work, but it takes WORK.)

Apart from that, and the control electronics, there are no significant differences between the RENIX and 1991 ChryCo blocks - so you should have no trouble adapting the new engine to work with the current electronics.