• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

auburn gear locker

desertrandy

NAXJA Forum User
I just read that auburn gear has introduced an electric locker for the dana 30 and 35. I have a 1992 Cherokee with the dana 30 up front and had a couple of questions:
1) Since this unit operates as a limited slip in normal mode, can you run a limited slip in the front with full time locked hubs. Ideally I would like to install a manual hub conversion but the addional price is too much for now.
2) Second, what are your opinions on an electric locker as opposed to an air or or cable actuated locker.

Any opinions would be helpfull. Thanks

Yes. I've been running a TrueTrac l/s in my front D30 for several years. You'll find quite a few daily drivers with a front limited slip.

I am also considering a Tru trac l/s but I like the idea of having a full time limited slip with the option of a selectable locker as in the Auburn Ected unit.
The only problem I see is the cost. I'm sure it is going to be expensive since it is both limited slip and a locker.

i currently have the ECTED unit in my 8.8 it is a full carier unit and operates using a series of ramps with balls on them to squeeze the clutch packs together causing it to lock up. (there is a much better description of this on there web page).