• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Can someone offer assistance for stick welding?

AJPulley

NAXJA Forum User
I think this is where this should go. After reading some threads about floor pan rusting, I felt worse than before I read them. I have a hole under my left foot just behind the left front wheel. I'm not a professional welder, but I can stick weld OK. The problem is I don't know what stick to use for thin materials. What would work best for 1/16" stock on the floor pan? I usually play with the heat on scrap material until I get it right. I've never mig or wire welded and don't know how to use one- that's why I'm asking about sticks, I don't know if very many use them anymore.

I just replaced a rocker with a MIG and it worked really well. Used .35 flux-cored at the lowest setting. Gas would be better I'm told but that's extra $$.

I took a stick welding class to get the basics and then bought my 175 Amp Lincoln Electric MIG. If you can stick weld, you can flux-core MIG - it's a little easier in my mind. It's all about arc and puddle anyways. For sheet metal, you might want to plug weld, and I don't know how easy that is with stick.

If you can get access to a MIG, I'd say use that. Might be a lot less hassle. If not, then someone who uses stick should chime in!

ok, if you absolutely need to use stick (whitch i dont recomend ) use 7018 3/32 or smaller or you could even use 309 stainless 1/16 ( dont know if they make 7018 1/16) but the truth is an oxy/ accy torch would do better than stick for what you are doing. the best would be mig or tig and welding is welding, heat, puddle, flow, add filler, move.

Well, I definately don't know anything about gas welding, so I'll find a wire-fed and try it. Is it really the same welding with a wire-fed? Ok, I'll try it.

Thanks.