• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

going to fab a rear tire carrier

funvtec

NAXJA Forum User
I am a structural steel welder by trade and have access to all types and styles of steel. I have a couple ideas i'm tossing around in my head as of right now

#1 i need to have access to the lift gate
#2 it needs to be close to the gate it self (looks only)
thats about it
#3 in needs to be removable and from the hitch

my first thought was a swing out tire carrier, i figured i would run square out a bit from the hitch then up to about the middle of the bumper, then over to the right side where i would weld a pin on and slide another piece tube bushed for the pin over it and back to the center of the bumper now being about even with the top of the bumper, i would then run a piece back as close as i could to the lift gate then up a ways and weld a plate with some studs welded form behing to hold my wheel now to hold everything from swinging all over the place i would put stops welded so the tire wouldn't hit the lift gate. then i would add a hinged a piece to the other side to swing up and put a lock pin into hold it from swinging out.

the second thought is a swing down carrier

this is alot simpler but it will get in the way of using the liftgate i will still be able to open it but have something right in the middle of it

same thinf as far a stock i'm using i would come out of the hitch go up to the top of the bumper then in tight to the gate and up again to the middle of the gate, now to make it swing i would weld a heavy duty hinge at the bottom joind right off the hitch and have a pad behind the first upright for it to ly up against with 2 ears coming off of it wraping around the sides of the tube i would use these ears to put a lock pin in to secure it in place