• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

lincoln pro 175

Ramsey

NAXJA Forum User
is this a fairly decent welder? they have it at lowes for 594 and my friend works there so i can get 20% off. they also have a pro 140, which i cant seem to find anything about, for 450 and it wouldnt need a 220v plug. so pretty much looking at 470+ cost of electrician or 360. any opinions on which i should go with or if either are worth a damn. trying to learn with it and then build some rock rails bumpers and that sort of thing. i've about convinced myself to just get the 220v. can a better one be had for the 470 it would cost me?

Lincoln makes good stuff and 175 is a great size for what we do, so I'm apt to say that would be the way to go, though I have no direct experience with that particular welder.

I have used the Lincoln 135 pro a fair bit, and it's a great little welder for up to 3/16. It does 1/4" fairly well, but I am still just a bit hesitant on critical parts. However this is all with using flux core which gets more penetration. Another advantage of a larger welder like the 175 is the ability to weld 1/4" with 25/75 gas which gives very clean welds, basically no cleanup required.

Ramsey said:
is this a fairly decent welder? they have it at lowes for 594 and my friend works there so i can get 20% off. they also have a pro 140, which i cant seem to find anything about, for 450 and it wouldnt need a 220v plug. so pretty much looking at 470+ cost of electrician or 360. any opinions on which i should go with or if either are worth a damn. trying to learn with it and then build some rock rails bumpers and that sort of thing. i've about convinced myself to just get the 220v. can a better one be had for the 470 it would cost me?

Are you sure its not a pro 135? I dont think they make a 140...