• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

considerations when doing a 5.5XJLA from RE

jeepster89

NAXJA Forum User
i am looking into doing a 5.5 long arm kit from RE. i was wondering what else i would need to upgrade with this i already have a new 8.8 lined up going to be putting 4:88's in JB SYE kit and tom woods drive shaft. i know some thigns for the steering will need to be upgraded but im not sure what or if there is alot of other things. any help and thoughts would be greatly appreciated thansk alex

Last edited:
I recommend that you spend some time searching on what different Long Arm kits have to offer. I beleive that the general consensus is that if you really wheel, then Rubicon may not be the best option.

Again, im not trying to give any real advice, as I have no personal experience with ANY manufactures longarm kits... However I was once seriously considering longarms and have since come to beleive that longarms, and especially Rubicons aren't always the best solution. Depends on what you are trying to accomplish. Do yourself a favor and do a quick search before settling on RE.

-jm

I have the RE LA and it was a pain to install. The arms hang down and drag along rocks. Look at the other designs of arms like TNT and you will understand what I mean. The grease fittings on the arms are in a horrible spot. With the kit a lot of sliders will not fit due to the lower control arm/transfer case mount.

ill put in a vote for the rock krawler kit without a doubt.
One of the best bang for your money in terms of cost and what you get.
check them out at www.rockkrawler.com and ill agree with what everyone else said, there is definitely a better option than re.

Matt