• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Exo Cage design

CanMan

NAXJA Forum User
Im A noob to this site, and sadly dont even have an XJ YET. But I am designing and planning out throughly exactly everything I will do. This is where the cage comes in. Let me know your thoughts, suggestions, and weather or not I am going overboard.

I will be using 1.75 X .120 DOM tube steel. as far as the bumpers front and rear, I am undecided so far, but have a few in mind. I also plan on using TnT Customs frame stiffners, and going on from there to make the sliders for the rockers. Click on link below:

Exo Cage Design

Thanks to MikeyB for letting me use the picture of his XJ, The one on the trail in the lower section of Rock Gorge in Gilbert, MN.

Why do you want an exo? Will you have any sort of internal cage to go with it? You're going to want to do some searching. You've got quite a bit of tube in your design that functions as nothing but extra weight. Besides that, my biggest tip at this point is that you want your tube to come together in nodes. Nodes are where 3 or more pieces of tube all meet in the same place. They're trickier to weld, but it makes for a lot stronger cage.
Billy

PS - Welcome!