• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

IAC Function , Testing ?

jeepsrock

NAXJA Forum User
I understand that the ECU takes signals from other sensors and then gives the IAC a signal for setting the idle. The situation is i am having an idle issue and today i disconnected it while the jeep was on (park-idle) and nothing happened. I did this to see if it was actually actuating. I was under the impression that if i unplugged it that it would die or would die as soon as i ran the AC. Anyway no matter what i did with it disconnected it my idle was unchanged.

So my question is What is its function ?, when does it move ? and can it be tested ?

pete

I'm not too experienced in this area, but it seems like it's not doing its job... maybe replace it?

Have you tried a search here (IAC etc.) or other sites/forums?

jeepsrock said:
I understand that the ECU takes signals from other sensors and then gives the IAC a signal for setting the idle. The situation is i am having an idle issue and today i disconnected it while the jeep was on (park-idle) and nothing happened. I did this to see if it was actually actuating. I was under the impression that if i unplugged it that it would die or would die as soon as i ran the AC. Anyway no matter what i did with it disconnected it my idle was unchanged.

So my question is What is its function ?, when does it move ? and can it be tested ?

pete
The IAC is a stepper motor, it needs a up pulse to go up, or a down pulse to go down.
If you unplug it it will stay where it is.

jeepsrock said:
That i understand... but if i unplug it and stress the motor then shouldnt the engines condition change ??

pete
Nope it's only for Idle, after you open the throttle it has no effect.