• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

new to the forum and have some ?'s

haynesn12

NAXJA Forum User
hello everybody,
i just found this board and did some research and you guys know your xj's. i just recenlty bought a 88 mj and wanna lift it and do some work to it. i am thinking about the rusty's 3 inch for now. what else will i need that the kit dosnt include? also what tires size should i go with? and finally i hae heard the speedo get's messed up with bigger tires, how much and where can i find the part to fix this? i am in school to become an auto tech so i have access to any tool i'd need so i just need a start in the right direction. thank you

I am still a newb, so from one to another, do a search.... 19 of your FIRST 20 questions have already been answered several hundered times...

I learned alot more be reading other post anyway. Thay way, when you search, you will find you answer, and the answers to your next 4 questions.

By the way, you find opinions vary, but I vote strongly for the Rubicon Express, THAT IS WHAT MY XJ has.

Also, take advice from people that have actually spent there Money on what they are telling you.... not some guy with a stock wrangler and a computer with time in his big theory hands.

Have fun, you will love it hear, this forum has been responsible in one-way or another for every single mod on my jeep.

Jason

I would suggest a Rubicon Express easy ride kit. It's alot more inclusive than Rusty's 3" kit. But you can anticipate on needing a trackbar (either relocation or new one) and T-case modification (either a drop or SYE) as well as bumpstops, brake lines, possibly rear axle shims and an assortment of other little things. How the tires effect your speedo is dependant on your gears/tire size.