• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Newbie help - converting 2wd 95 cherokee to 4wd

bluestang50

NAXJA Forum User
I'm pretty new to jeeps and don't know too much about them. I'm more into speed i actually have a built 347 stoker fox body mustang. Anyways my friend has a 2wd 1995 Cherokee with the inline six. It already has a three inch suspension lift and some wheels and tires. We are going to convert it from 2wd to 4wd. What all am i going to need to pull this conversion off? I know i will need a transfer case, entire front axle assembly, and im guessing a new drive shaft for the rear (i say this becuase im guessing the distance will be shorter with the transfer case on the back of the transmission) and one for the front. What else will i need to pull this off? Will any front suspension pieces need to be changed? Will i need a different computer for eletrical connections to the transfer case? Also where might i be able to find all of these parts for a good price. I have found a transfer case, front axle assembly, and driveshafts at a local junkyard for 650. Keep in mind we arent going to do any extreme offroading just some fun on the weekends. Any help i would greatly appreciate.

Nathan

You've got a good start to your parts list for this conversion.
You'll also need:
- a transmission from a 4wd cherokee,
- a T-case shifter assembly and bezel + hardware
- all the hardware for the front Driveshaft

I'm sure there's some more stuff you'll need but thats all i can think of for now.

And at the price you're being quoted for the parts, i'd look into buying a rolled or blown engine 4wd rig and swapping over parts and selling off whats left for what you paid for the rig.