• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

rear D44 housing strength vs. D60 upgrade

Capt. Nemo

NAXJA Member #904
I'm trying to decide between buying the super 44 kit and sticking with the rear D44, or biting the bullet and going for a D60 rear end. My question really focuses on the strength of the stock XJ D44 housing. I'm running 37's and I'm a very conservative driver, but is it worth it to try to upgrade the D44 shafts if the housing will be questionable? I'm trying to hold off on trying to build a D60 for clearance and weight issues, not to mention the extra expense of gears, lockers, blah, blah, blah...

Has anyone experienced problems related to the failure of a stock D44 housing? Spun tubes, bent tubes, cracked pumpkins? Would extra bracing be beneficial? If bracing is really worth it, where should it be located?

Goatman is the only person I know who has done in a 44 R&P.
The super 44 kit might work. But, you will alway's be thinking about it in the back of your mind. I think if your into 37 and wheel out west(like you do)
35 spline with a 9" or 60 is a must. Oh, and go hi9 when you do.

Nemo, have you called on the prices for a 44 AND 60 parts? the reason i ask is that i got a D60 housing cut down for the XJ for $500, the difference in Gears, bearings, lockers, and a 35 spl Warn full float kit was less than $300 at the time i built mine, about 5 yrs ago. The ground clearance is difference is 3/4" and you gain about 60 lbs all things equal, (tube size, shaft size, brakes etc) But both those problems can be addressed with aftermarket center sections.