• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

uhg

JAGx1414

NAXJA Forum User
i searched but didnt find anything helpful.. this is a total newbie question but im 17 and still a newb.. oh well

so my jeep is a 98 5spd manual. when i bought the car i leanred how to drive manual with it. it got some wear on it but i learned quick. now it seems to drive diffrent. it seems it wont grab as easily anymore when letting the clutch out. is that the clutch disc going bad.. or the flywheel? or is it just the clutch going bad? how do you know when a clutch is going bad? my dad says it squeeks if the clutch disc isnt grabbing. when i let my clutch out it squeeks but it also squeks when its in nuetral and hit the gas. my jeep does have some squeeking after wheelin it. i think the squeeking is my rear wheels and my transfer case though. the clutch also seems to be more loose that it was when i first got my jeep. and the transfer case.. would that squeeking in the t-case have anything to do with it? sorry this question is a mess. thanks for any help -John

Last edited:
dude, welcome to the jeeper world....i used to own a 92 mj(sold it to my lil bro, it now sits in our driveway/for my recreational use/hopefully) anyway it had a 5spd in it and i learned on it to..if i was you i would drive it till it breaks, i would assume that the difference you feel is in your profiencency (spelling?) driving maybe not so much as something going bad.