• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Easier way to probe a TPS?

XJMark

NAXJA Forum User
Y'know what is the deal with that back probing thing you have to do to check a TPS? I've never had to do anything so frustrating in my life, and I'm an electronics technician! Getting a good connection is a pain and when you finally get a good connection you have to switch the probe out and start over only at a different wire. :mad: Three hands would help too. -end rant, read on-

So one day I'm at the u-pull junk yard and I have a lightbulb moment (I think we've all had this moment at the u-pull). I pull my digital multimeter (yes there's one in my toolbox too) and verify the TPS on this donor Cherokee is dead, but that the wiring is good. -Snip- I cut the wires on both ends of the plugs (yes you have to cut the wires on the wiring harness side too), paid my 3 dollars for it and left.

I now had a male and female TPS plug and wire set, I proceeded to strip and twist the corresponding wires together (A to A, B to B, etc.) and crimped them into one end of a crimp type barrell connector leaving the other side empty.

I now have an "inline" TPS test cable, the barrell connectors are marked A, B and D. No more intermittent connections, the probes simply "plug" into the open ends of the barrell connectors. When I'm done adjusting the TPS I just remove the inline cable and put it away for another time, just like any of my other tools.

If anyone needs a visual, PM me and i'll see about posting a pic of it tonight.

Mark

This is exactly the type of thing I was wishing for a couple of weeks ago when I was trying to monitor the voltage from the O2 sensor on a Golf.
I had to scrape off some insulation and try to seal it up with silicon afterward.
Your approach is good for many different sensors.