• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

tow hooks? Help!!!!

cactijohnny

NAXJA Forum User
Hey
I am new to the off road scene. But i wanna put tow hooks on my xj. I am on a real tight budget and was thinking of making my own. I know rusty's sells brackets andi was thinking about basically copying the design. Get a think peice of steel and matching the holes with the bumber mount. But now is where i was thinking somthing different.
could i just make it a flat peice. no "L" shape? Just have it sticks out on the bottom far enought to be lower than the bumper. then i would cut a hole down low and put a D shaped shackle... Sorry i am really bad at explaining things. If this makes sense to anyone, do you think this is a good or a bad idea? any other ideas... please let me know. Thanks, Johnny

unless you can get something thick and can cut It to exact measurements and put holes through It for cheap I think Its a waste of time....your gonna pay a good amount Just for steel and the hooks alone will cost you 20 bucks....Rustys kit sell for $75, look on the boards for something used but unless you know what your doing I would Just buy It and get It done right the first time....

Terrible drawing, but do you mean something like this?
shackle.bmp

I'm no fabricator, but I don't see why it wouldn't work.

Make sure that whatever you attach your towhooks to bolts along the 'frame' in several places for quite a ways back from the bumper, otherwise the first time you use it to pull yourself out of a good stuck, you will rip the front end of your jeep off. Also, a 'really tight budget' is simply NOT compatible with building up a vehicle for wheeling, if you really want to do it right, save your pennies and do it when you can afford it...

Beej said: