• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Tranny wont shift gears once in 4-Lo

ruggedjeep

NAXJA Forum User
It shifts fine in 4-hi but when i put it into 4-low just revs really high and doesnt shift out of 1st gear. Spoke to a tranny shop they said its a speed sensor on my Tcase... Had them check it out they said the solenoids were fine and so was the speed senor... whatelse should i look at?

uh...i'm no expert, but you're not supposed to go over 15 mph in 4lo. My own personal preference is to stay in 1st, keep it in 1-2 for a crawl. d for a little more speed. put your transmission into n and shift into 4hi if you want a little more speed. 4hi is usually adequate for most obstacles. 4lo is great though.

Mine must be busted too as it doesn't shift in 4 LO. JUST KIDDING. You're NOT trying to use 4LO from DRIVE are you??

4 LO is for crawling up hill slowly. Based on your description, You probably have a 231 and an AW4?? You seldom need that gear. 4 Hi will handle most obstacles. It uses the drive position. 4 LO the 1-2 and 3 positions.

Anyone else chime in please if I'm wrong

Rocketman said:
4 LO is for crawling up hill slowly. Based on your description, You probably have a 231 and an AW4?? You seldom need that gear. 4 Hi will handle most obstacles.
Anyone else chime in please if I'm wrong
Don't really know what the problem is, but 4L is used rather often on the trails out here :D

Kejtar said:
Don't really know what the problem is, but 4L is used rather often on the trails out here :D

Yeah im almost always in 4L when im on a trail. Unless im on a dirt road or steep hill climb where speed in necessary, i keep my speed slow and stay steady on the throttle.