• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Exhaust heat???

trailbuilt

NAXJA Forum User
I have 94 xj, I have a flowmaster muffler on it.I just removed my carpet...God damn the floor apove the muffler is hot, it will sizzle water ....I am going to get some heat sheild from summit racing and put in on the under side of the floor. Dose this sound normal??

trailbuilt said:
I have 94 xj, I have a flowmaster muffler on it.I just removed my carpet...God damn the floor apove the muffler is hot, it will sizzle water ....I am going to get some heat sheild from summit racing and put in on the under side of the floor. Dose this sound normal??

Totally normal, I think most carpet has a thicker part right there for that very reason......... :lecture:

my flowmaster got thumped on a rock one two many times and started rubbing the floor, on my way home from wheelin it actually rubbed a small hole through the floor melted the carpet padding and the carpet went up in smoke. I got it pulled over pretty quick when the cab filled with smoke and i dumped my cooler on it :gag:

I had the extinguisher handy but the cooler was quicker.

I've seen the floor burnt up on XJ's in the junkyard due to the cat being installed upside down or being too close to the floor. A Burning floor would suck.

yes i have herculined my interior after removing the carpet and my floot still is hot... install the heat shield above your muffler and cat too...this should help some but my tranny keeps my right leg warm all the time! When it rains it fogs my interior up in about 2 minutes... just somthing you have to live with with no insulation...