• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

safari doors

Mr.OverKill

NAXJA Forum User
just started the hack and slash on my doors today, cut the top frames and the dip down on the main doors, to re-enforce the inner door i welded in a piece of 1x1 angle, tomorrow i will weld in some 1/4" or 3/8" bar stock to the out side of the door for support and rigidity not to mention a thick area to weld in the new sheet metal to top off the doors, i know this is a quick blurb but i am not a body man i am a welder/ fabricator with an eye for detail ( or at least i think i do ), i will post pics tomorrow

Troy

for got one of the most important things, gut the doors first, every thing but the latch and six inches of the latch control rods( well actually you only need the one for the door handle ) well i said last nite i would post pics today so here they are

DSCN0362.jpg

exterior cuts are the ones needed to be the cleanest, but all is fixable in the end
DSCN0363.jpg

note, inside of door will be covered with a piece of sheet metal and welded shut with the exception of an access pannel close to the latch mech.
DSCN0367.jpg

first rough fit
DSCN0368.jpg

shot of the angle iron, i know i aint no photographer, but i tried
DSCN0370.jpg

after some adjustment, the doors looked much better, today i will be putting in the 1/4" bar stock around the top ( the nwe top ) of the doors so i will have more of a welding surface, i only have the little wire feeder you see in the pic here to work with, wish i had a tig then the whole project would be easier.

the rear doors will be done after i finish the fronts, more pics on the way as i go along.

...........to Be Contenued.........

Troy