• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

IPF Headlights...

TDeaton13

NAXJA Forum User
OK I've searched the threads and can't find a definate answer??

Can I use the IPF H4 headlight replacements with a 55/65w superwhite aftermarket bulb with the stock wiring harness?

If not were is a good/cheap place to pick a aftermarket wiring harness? I've read the threads about making your own but I think I'd rather buy it.

I've got a '97 XJ auto, if that matters?

TDeaton13 said:
OK I've searched the threads and can't find a definate answer??

Can I use the IPF H4 headlight replacements with a 55/65w superwhite aftermarket bulb with the stock wiring harness?

Should be fine since the stock bulbs are around that wattage.

Does anyone know how hard it is to install these wiring kits? Im not very good at wiring, but if its relativly easy, I think I could do it.

The IPF harness is super-easy... I don't imagine any other ones being much different.

Disconnect the battery ;)

Unsnarl the harness

Remove the lights & unplug them from the OEM female sockets. Clean up the terminals on the pass. side.

Sheath & route the two light sockets down to the lamps and the (male) switching socket to the PS, plug all these in. Replace the lights

Install the 3 relays into their sockets, and secure the relay block somewhere out of the way. 2 of them are the same so it's a no-guesser which go where.

Connect the red harness lead to the battery +, and the black harness lead to the battery -.

Connect the battery.

Aim the lights.

As for the original post...The OEM harness 'should be' OK up to 100/80, especially on a newer model, but the lights (OEM or aftermarket H4) will be a bit brighter with the 'new' relay harness.

Last edited: