• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Too much lift

crazyoffroader

NAXJA Forum User
I have an '85 2dr pioneer that I have been building up for a while, but I just ran into a problem.

I had a set of springs that I picked up from a buddy because mine were sagging(with 1in blocks it was at stock height) and because they were free.

I installed the springs last night and found out that rather than gain the 4" I was hoping for, I gained 8-10"(!) so only the brake lines fit, not the e-brake cables or the shocks.

The springs are SuperLift (Part# 01-445).

I know I can get Wrangler e-brake cables, but what can I do about the shocks?

Anyone have ideas for making the springs sag or have 4" rear springs they dont need?

Pics will be fourthcoming.

I'm far from an expert, but what you might try doing is taking the leaf spring pack apart and deleting a leaf, maybe two. If you leave it at its present height it seems to me that you're going to run into some serious problems with the front end...i.e. long arm, custom stuff.

You might also contact Goatman. He seems to know more about leaf springs than I'll learn in my lifetime.

I know that probably doesn't help much, but I hope that it helps a little,
Robert

I haven't touched the front end yet, so it currently sits with 3" in the front and around 10" in the rear, so no long arms need yet.

The main trouble with these springs is that the main pack has 3 springs with 1 overload spring, and all are BEEFY!

Should get a pic this evening.

you could try taking the blocks off, or like the other guy said take the leaf that's under the main leaf( the one with eyes) that may help a bit.

I REALLY REALLY doubt that you got 8 to 10 inches. superlift doesnt make springs that big. As far as I know.