• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Gear install write ups

Drunk tank

NAXJA Forum User
Do you all know of any gear instal write ups for a dana 30 or a 8.25?

I just ordered 4.56 yukon gears for my junk, both the master kits and a nice shinny power trax no slip for the rear (and the new carrier for the front).

Figure since I've never done this before it would be nice to read some good write ups and at least be some what prepped do do this junk.

Any help is appreciated... never screwed with gears and lockers before

what is your mechanical aptitude?
Drunk tank said:
Do you all know of any gear instal write ups for a dana 30 or a 8.25?

I just ordered 4.56 yukon gears for my junk, both the master kits and a nice shinny power trax no slip for the rear (and the new carrier for the front).

Figure since I've never done this before it would be nice to read some good write ups and at least be some what prepped do do this junk.

Any help is appreciated... never screwed with gears and lockers before

Rawbrown said:
what is your mechanical aptitude?

On a scale of 1-10 I'd give myself a firm 7-8 :D

I'm good with my hands... just never fiddled with this stuff before. Hell, never even had to pull a shaft yet on my XJ (cant be much different than my old suburban though) Only way to llearn how to do it though is to actually do it. :) When ya think about it.... its nothing more than a bunch of nuts and bolts. Lots of these bolts just have to be torqued. and the gears just have to be positioned right so they contact correctly.

Im guessing I'll pull them in and out a good 5-6 times before I get the right pattern.

HA! Anyone in the area wanna come and join? I have to be able to drive this bitch on monday.