• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

walmart welder...

sidriptide

nobody of any consequence
i am going to be getting into some rocker replacement soon and rather than pay a shop to do it i was thinkin maybe i'd just buy a cheap unit for myself for about the same cost... heres the question..
walmart has a "wire-feed" welder on the shelf for $269... it is NOT a mig, but it says it has a conversion kit with it to make it a mig.. like a gas valve and some other stuff...
what do you think i'll need besides a gas bottle? and how much do you think that will run? how long/how much use would a bottle give.. i'm will be a self taught welder so i will have to play a lot to get it right but that will be the fun part.. sound like a deal or a PIA to you? if my total $$ is under 400 i would probably do it..
thanks guys.
mike

DO NOT BUY THAT POS!!!!! I made the mistake before! I bought it thinking "well,it will be a start,and I can learn to weld with it and then move up to a better one later." Boy was I wrong! I *never*,not even once,laid a bead with that welder that I was happy with. I sold it about a year later and went to Lowe's and bought a Lincoln Pro Mig 135. It was around $450,but at the time,they were offering a $50 rebate,so,my total expense was $400,and it comes with the gas conversion kit,too,so all you need to do is go out and rent or buy a bottle for it. That is a great welder!