• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Drop Bracket vs Long Arm

over2land

NAXJA Member #1171
NAXJA Memorial Lifetime Member
I am new to the XJ/MJ thing, and wondering what is the deal with the drop brackets?

In a TJ, if you want a more stable lift, you put long arms on it. But here, I notice a lot of guys just dropping the arms instead.

If I'm trying to put together a prerunner out of my 88 MJ (shortbed, if that matters), which would work better for me?

It'll see occasional rocks, but mostly street, desert, or <gasp> mud

I'm thinking 3-4 inches of lift is what I need.

Thanks.

IMO If you have the money, go for the long arm. But, not really that necessary for 3-4 in lift.

over2land said:
I am new to the XJ/MJ thing, and wondering what is the deal with the drop brackets?

In a TJ, if you want a more stable lift, you put long arms on it. But here, I notice a lot of guys just dropping the arms instead.

If I'm trying to put together a prerunner out of my 88 MJ (shortbed, if that matters), which would work better for me?

It'll see occasional rocks, but mostly street, desert, or <gasp> mud

I'm thinking 3-4 inches of lift is what I need.

Thanks.

If you are only going with 3 to 4 inches of lift then you will NOT need Drop Brackets or a Long Arm Kit. The RE HD Kit (drop bracket) is 5.5" and almost all long arm kits are 5" and above. Plus that is a TON of money to spend for A. The height you want and B. for the type of wheeling you plan on doing.

If you only need / want only 3 to 4 inches of lift then a standard RE or Rusty's lift kit will do you just fine.

Hope this helps -

But if I'm tearing across the desert, or wherever...

Would it be better to reinforce the stock mount, get a drop bracket that reinforces it, or put a long arm on it.