• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Stock springs

tireroastin93XJ

NAXJA Forum User
Has anyone used the stock replacement Quadratec rear leafs and front coils in the Essentials catalog? Mine are sagging and ride like crap. Was going to do a RE 3" lift but my budget won't allow it. The prices seem reasonable was just wondering how well they hold up.

Thanks,
Mike Harris

hey Mike,
i have no experience with the quadratec replcements but you said you was on a budget, i figiured i would reply, if you look in the FS forum there are alot of guys on here who have stock coils up for grabs, for instance i have 2 stock front coils from the front of a 99 w/ 43,000 highway miles on them, sitting in my driveway collecting dust...you could buy those or someone elses set and then just pay quartec for the replacement rear springs, or you might get lucky and find someone on here selling those too...hth
Pm/make me an offer if you want them coils...
Maier
[email protected]

It's unusual for the front coils to sag much. You should probably concentrate on the rear springs. If you're on a tight budget, doing a home brew AAL using a pair of used XJ main leaves is the way to go. It'll get back the height you lost to sagging, plus make the springs a bit stronger to resist further sagging.

Read this
http://www.rocklizardfabrications.com/home_brew_budget_boost.htm

Well, no ideas on why the link isn't working. But I can summarize what it says about the rear springs.

Find a set of springs out on an XJ. Maybe junkyard, or maybe there's a NAXJA member near you who took out the stock springs to install lift springs.