• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

What is a snatch block used for?

NHextremeXJ

NAXJA Forum User
I'm somewhat new to wheeling and I've seen snatch blocks but don't know what they're for. :dunno:

N8 DAWG said:
I'm somewhat new to wheeling and I've seen snatch blocks but don't know what they're for. :dunno:

ahhaha, my wife was reading over my sholder and yelled "Ouch!" when she read that! hehehehe:laugh3:

Snatch block is a simple tool (Pulley) that multiplys the force applied. When used with winching, the cable is run through the pulley and back to the vehicle. This in effect can double the pulling force applied.
Also used when pulling off center, say 90 degs from the front. Snatch block to a tree and pull someone else that is 90 degs from your truck. As an example.
Should be part of your basic recovery gear load out.

Roll-over said:
ahhaha, my wife was reading over my sholder and yelled "Ouch!" when she read that! hehehehe:laugh3:

Okay I'll bite, Why the ouch?

you could probably look it up but...

essentially a snatch block *doubles* the load of a winch. say your stuck really bad and you need extra power from your winch, if you hook a snatch block to a tree in front of you and run your winch cable/line through the snatch block then back to a recovery point on your frame, you will get extra power/weight from your winch, while only reducing line speed (how fast the cable pull you in) a little bit.