• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Resetting maintainence required light

kofeebrat

NAXJA Forum User
I was driving home from work the other day when the "maintainence required" light came on. After consulting the manual I found out that it's for scheduled emissions maintainence. I was just wondering if there was any way to reset the bugger without going to a dealership?? I just don't wanna spend $$$ on a tech flippin a switch then hooking up a OBD and saying "Everything is AOK". I know on the Geo Trackers there is a switch behind the driver's side speaker that you just flip and it resets the light, anything like that on the XJ, or is a trip to a dealer required (don't have my own OBD) ??

Thanks in advance!

I'm no expert...but my Chiltons manual tells me that to reset the light for emissions maintenance, a module needs to be replaced. Not just reset, but physically replaced.

Maybe some electrical tape over the light??? LOL If you don't want to pay for the service, that is.

i pulled my light out 80k ago :)

Here is what I stated previously on this issue:

A 1992 will have BOTH a "check engine" and a "maintenance required" light.

The CE light is what will illuminate when the ECU senses a problem. On a 1992, which is OBD-I, it can also be interrogated into flashing. Counting the flashes will reveal the codes. (So will plugging the DRB scanner into the DRB port under the hood, but most of us don't have a DRB scanner, so counting flashes is easier.) Fixing whatever the ECU says is wrong will cause this light to go out.

The "maintenance required" light comes on automatically at 82,500 miles. It's designed to alert the owner to take the vehicle to the dealer, where the O2 sensor will be replaced. This light can ONLY be reset by using the DRB scanner.