• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

WJ steering prices?

XJCRAWLER said:
Was that knuckles and calipers too? I've been searching for the last hour for a thread on doing the swap, and hadn't find a good one yet. Help?

No you only need the drag link and the tierod assemblys. its a simple bolt on 15 minute job

XJCRAWLER said:
Isn't the WJ steering a crossover setup?

Yes, and if your at the junk yard pull the tie rod, drag link, and knuckles. The brak set up also if you dont want to try and reuse yours. TJ calipers and rotors are the same and sometimes cheaper and more abundant.

I will preface my comments by saying I am not an expert. I have asked NAXJA's own Mark Hinkley for much of this detailed information. I am however curently finishing the WJ steering-knuckle-brake conversion. I'm happy to answer any questions that I can as there is little information on the net and some of it is not correct. JKS has the best write up by Mr. Hinkley in the "fab" section.

We obviously have some confusion over the WJ steering-knuckle-brake conversion. This should not be mixed up with a ZJ V8 steering conversion that is a steering swap only. If you just want slightly stronger tie/drag links then the ZJ V8 swap may work for you.

The WJ setup makes for a very nice polished D30. For myself I do not see running any tire over 32's and am very happy with 31's right now. Unfortunately I do not wheel near enough so my 2000 is mainly drivin on road. With these parameters and money issues I decided to stay away from an expensive custom 44. Yes, my D30 is custom, but the parts are not hard to find. Trust me I love to overkill build, but the 44 buy the time it's shipped to Kansas is alot more expensive.