• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

NYS Inspection...

mikeny59

NAXJA Member #300
Been a long, long, time since I was a NYS inspector, my xj is late.

The perpindicular wear bars are visible on the outside edges of my 31's, but across the majority of the tread is pristine.; no wear bars present, plenty of tread depth.

Would like to delay the purchase of new tires as long as possible, would the above conditions constitute failure?

Thanks,

Mike NAXJA # 300

Probably won't be a problem, but really it depends on the inspector. I have had inspectors that just glanced things over, and I have had inspectors that spent forever just looking for something to ding me on. I prefer to go to a shop where I know someone. If your XJ has OBDII be ready for that, make sure your check engine light isn't on or they will fail you.

I am taking my XJ for inspection tomorrow, but everything is in good shape and I know the inspector, so I'm not worried.

Good luck!!

If it fails at one inspection station, can you bring it to another? Some inspectors are easier than others.
When I lived in Buffalo I brought in my bike for inspection. Knowing my horn didn't work, when he told me to blow the horn, I quickly leaned over my handlebars and screamed "GET THE HELL OUT THE WAY" at the top of my lungs. The inspector, quite shaken, handed me my inspection sticker, and off I went!

Most inspectors will scrape your old sticker if it is overdue regardless of whether you pass or not, so you may be driving around without a sticker, which is a huge cop magnet. I'm not sure if they have to give you a temporary or not.