• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

tranny draining questions

XJ4Roks

NAXJA Forum User
ok so im gonna drain the tranny and transfer case but what about the torque convertor? im not seeing any plug for that puppy...any help would be awesome! sorry for the dumb newbie questions, this is my first time dealing with any auto tranny. this is on a aw4 btw, thanks in advance!!

also im replacing a small piece of the metal line in the cooler line with rubber tranny line is this gonna be ok?...its only about a 3" piece where my lower control bent it and pinched a hole in the line. im thinking two clamps on each side and ill be fine but im still gonna ask yall. thanks again!!

Sean

Last edited:
so there isnt a way to drain the convertor unless i pull the tranny i found out, womp womp!! anyway it started raining on me so i came inside, but i was just to the point of getting the pan down but noticed the filler tube is going into the pan, so how does that come out?...just pops out?

There's a drain plug in the AW4, so no trouble there.

Most methods of draining the torque converter that I've ever seen break down to one of two ways:

1) An active flush, either with a machine or with a pressure source. Requires a LOT of fluid (it's an 8-quart fill for a dead empty AW4 w/TC, vice four for a drain/fill.)

2) Drill two holes in the TC 180* apart. Allow to drain. Plug holes with special blind rivets and a touch of sealer. Refill.

Why are you bent on changing all the fluid - does it look that bad? As long as it's still reddish and doesn't smell burnt, you can do the "service change" (only four quarts) without trouble.