• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Spray foam or pool noodle?

96XJCLASSIC

NAXJA Forum User
I know this has been touched on before but i can't find exactly what I am looking for.
I am trimmed in the front and removed the inner plastic fender liner and foam. Now I am thinking about spraying in the expanding spray foam (the brand i believe is called "Great Stuff") . Does anyone have experience with doing this and Pro's or Cons? THANKS.

i have no first hand experience with it. but from some reading, it seems as if the pool noodle is the better way to go. the foam could trap moisture and cause rust. and if you get too generous with the foam, it could buldge the sheet metal out a bit.

again, not 1st hand experience, just a regurgitation of what i've read on the boards.

what fitch said is pretty much true, but they do make a "non expanding" foam. it still expands but not nearly as much as the older stuff. ive never tried the pool noodle...

I used great stuff to fill in my rear wheel wells, so far...so good. Use less than you think, you need and do it over a drop cloth or somewhere the run off will not matter, it gets everywhere.

Rev

Well I am going to be a guinea pig for the front and try it out. Maybe it will pop my dents out. :idea: HA HA