PDA

View Full Version : El Scamola?


hjeepxj
January 31st, 2005, 13:20
Over the past month or so Ive been getting these Emails that are reciepts from paypal...for stuff that I didnt buy...so I dont reply or anything, and I log into my regular paypal account, and nothing has happened...

Then I get this email today:

This email confirms that you have added the following address to your
account:

1515 6th Street
Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
United States

If you did not authorize this change or if you need assistance with
your account, go to :

https://paypal.com/webscreen=?cmd_remove/value=cookie?newadress

Sincerely,
PayPal

Did you know:

EBAY HAS PRODUCTS FOR YOUR NEW HOME

* Lawn Mowers * Faucets * BBQs * Furniture
* Spas & Pools * Flowers * Lamps * Vacuums
* Major Appliances * Plants * Tools * Wallpaper

Go to http://home.ebay.com


-------------------------------------------------------------------
PROTECT YOUR PASSWORD

NEVER give your password to anyone and ONLY log in at
https://www.paypal.com/. Protect yourself against fraudulent websites
by opening a new web browser (e.g. Internet Explorer or Netscape) and
typing in the PayPal URL every time you log in to your account.

------------------------------------------------------------------


PayPal Email ID PP006


I clicked on the 1st mentioned link, and it LOOKS like paypal, but the webaddress is screwy, then I clicked the other link, and it took me to a fake (but looked real) paypal log-in screen.

Im assuming when you enter in your SN and password, it records it, then these scammers log in via your real paypal account and screw you...



:confused:

Anyone hear anything aboot this?

BillR
January 31st, 2005, 13:23
I've had a few like that.
Make sure you check it with Paypal by going directly to their site, NOT through a link in the email.

hjeepxj
January 31st, 2005, 13:24
I've had a few like that.
Make sure you check it with Paypal by going directly to their site, NOT through a link in the email.


Exactly! I could see how it would be easy to fall into it.

bchulett
January 31st, 2005, 14:01
I recieved an email from PayPal last week telling me there were four (4) attempts to crack my logon/password from users from four (4) different country's... including the USA, Canada, Russia and Sweden.

They provided a link to revalidate my account... I didn't open it until I went directly to the PayPal Web site to logon and verify if they sent the email.

Edit: Do what Bill said ....

bshaw
January 31st, 2005, 14:03
Exactly! I could see how it would be easy to fall into it.

Pretty sweet scam isn't it? :flamemad: I've had more than a few of those emails. Last one I got I turned into Paypal, with a copy of the email I got. I would suggest you do the same and anyone else that gets these. It will only help Paypal catch the fawkers quicker who are up to no good!!

hjeepxj
January 31st, 2005, 14:07
Pretty sweet scam isn't it? :flamemad: I've had more than a few of those emails. Last one I got I turned into Paypal, with a copy of the email I got. I would suggest you do the same and anyone else that gets these. It will only help Paypal catch the fawkers quicker who are up to no good!!


Sounds like a plan.

I was just wondering if I was the only one. Other scams you hear aboot alot...

bshaw
January 31st, 2005, 14:18
Just the people on Ebay, like the Nigerian scams I've heard a lot about. At one time I had a link to a website (Forums) of people who scam the scam artist's. Super funny stuff, and if I can find the link again I'll post it here. Other than this stuff, I really haven't heard anything else lately. Anyone else?

old_man
January 31st, 2005, 14:35
I am a power seller on ebay and every time I post an auction I tend to get at least one of those bogus emails. PayPal has a big writeup on their page about them. I've turned in so many to PayPal, I'm getting tired.

bshaw
January 31st, 2005, 14:58
This stuff is great, here's a link to a site that I was talking about from above: http://www.419eater.com/forum/index.php This whole site is awesome if you got the time. Check it out! :D

IndyXJ
January 31st, 2005, 16:14
It's called "phishing" if you want to learn more. I got some purporting to be from Citibank and Wellsfargo. Check the URL's in the url field, keep up on your updates and run anti virus. Some websites can now run malicious code just for viewing them, nice... :wierd:

xxxj-va
January 31st, 2005, 17:19
I wish it were still that simple....make no mistake this is organized crime (trust me I know) from the folks who solict email addresses (spammers) and then sell the list and on down the line. Try this site for some good info:

http://www.antiphishing.org/
http://www.sec.gov/investor/pubs/phishing.htm

Lots more out there

Anyone can make an email appear to be from anyone, don't use the outlook preview pane, don't ever "unsubscribe" from something you never subscribed to. Don't visit questionable website (you know what I'm talking about), don't open email attachments (funny stuff around the holidays, etc.) because your buddy that forwarded it did NOT program the game....any guesses who did? OK end of sermon. good luck!

-P


It's called "phishing" if you want to learn more. I got some purporting to be from Citibank and Wellsfargo. Check the URL's in the url field, keep up on your updates and run anti virus. Some websites can now run malicious code just for viewing them, nice... :wierd:

KaHOnas
January 31st, 2005, 22:25
The military has a website where you can go and check the status of your paycheck. Someone had set up a website with a very similar address with intent to screw military folks out of their money. I happened upon the site by accident and got pretty p.o.'d. Leeches, man. Freakin' leeches.

hjeepxj
February 1st, 2005, 08:36
Good info guys! :)

JohnnysXJ
February 1st, 2005, 15:47
it is unfortunately terribly easy to spoof a redirection as a link. Since the link you see is going to resolve to what the WHOLE address is...you can tuck a ?redir? or ?address:// into the url and still have the link look like the legit company address. NEVER, NEVER, NEVER click a link in the email....swipe the url for the root company name www.name.com without any extraneous suffix. if you ever have a doubt about a site....drop the URL into www.samspade.org and see who the registered owner is.

Moto
February 2nd, 2005, 22:24
When you get questionable e-mails like that from paypal or EBAY saying that someone is illegally using your account, or that something is wrong, you should ALWAYS forward the e-mail to SPOOF@ebay.com or Spoof@Paypal.com They usually will respond later that day and tell you if it is legit and I have yet to have them ever tell me that any thing like that is legit, it also helps them to track down the people that are sending them. The best way to avoid being scammed is to never access e-bay or paypal from an email. Any information that they are telling you in an e-mail can easliy be accessed by logging into your account after YOU type it into your webbrowser.

hjeepxj
February 2nd, 2005, 23:03
Freakin sweet guys! Ill be doin that w/these ones. :D :cheers: