• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New to XJ please help

#1stunna

NAXJA Forum User
Thanks for looking. I'm new to jeeps and have a chance to pick up a straight 86 pioneer with 2.8, auto, and select trac-whatever that is, sorry. The only problem is the 2.8 has a slight knock in the bottom end. I need to know what engines I can replace this with along with difficulties before I buy. Thanks alot

I'm not real sure what engine you can just swap in without too much trouble but I know that everyone else pretty much hates the 2.8. The select- trac is good. Most of the xj's I have seen do not have this but the only real difference is that on most t-case shifters you have 2hi-4hi-4lo and of course neutral. On the select-trac you have hi neutral lo. Then the switch behind the shifter puts you in and out of hi and lo. Most of us don't have the option of 2lo but with select- trac you do. I recently picked up the same setup you are speaking of. It is an 85 or 86 and the 2.8 is blown up but I am just using it for parts for the other 5 xj's in the family. Put a good motor in it and you will love it.

"Selec-Trac" is simply the name Jeep applied to the high-end, optional transfer cases. The Selec-Trac in an '86 would be a 228 or 229. These are "okay" transfer cases. They are strong enough, especially for the absolutely anemic 2.8L engine, but they do not include a locked 4WD high range. In high range the 4WD is full-time only, which means that there is a differential or viscous coupler (the 228 uses one, the 229 uses the other) that allows the front and rear drive shafts to operate at different speeds. If you want this Jeep for serious off-roading, this is not considered to be "a good thing."