• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Forgotten Dana 30 Mystery Bearing

MaineJeepah

NAXJA Forum User
I need help and I am hoping some of the gurus (like Eagle) can help me out...

The question is about a DANA 30. I am not a newbie, perse... I have no reason to upgrade to a 44 on this project, as this one will probably never see a trail. It's a pavement pounder.

I am stumped. I HAVE SEARCHED here, and outside the forum, but no one mentions this bearing.

On a dana 30 (this is on an MJ, but an XJ is the same I beleive)... on a d30 there is the axle vacuum disconnect in the middle of the axle tube. On one side there is the axle shaft seal... keeps out the bad stuff.

ON THE OTHER SIDE inside the tube is a roller bearing. I cannot get this sucker out. I am using a 3/4" drive and a VERY long extention... right through and out the other side of the axle. BANG BANG BANG, and she won't budge. I have not seen anyone actually REMOVE this bearing, or mention removing it. I want it out, as I intend on sandblasting the housing, and sand and bearings don't mix. (not well anyway)

While I'm at it, I can't find any tips on removing the small needle bearings inside the end of the 2pc axle shaft.

PLEASE HELP!

Thanks